From its modern-day inauguration in Woodbrook Golf Club, Co. Wicklow, right through to last year’s narrative at Fota Island Resort, the Irish Open has provided spectacular competition both for the world’s best golfers, and the local amateurs that comprise the field every summer.

The winners’ list reads like a who’s who of some of the finest and well-loved players to ever pick up a club. Spaniard Seve Ballesteros claimed three titles in the space of four years in the mid-1980s; his trademark charisma washing over the galleries with every appearance in Ireland. Ballesteros’ second win, in 1985, was a vintage year for the Irish Open, as Bernhard Langer’s sensational, course-record breaking 63 on the final day looked to have given the German the title. Ballesteros had other ideas, however, and birdied three of the last four holes at Royal Dublin to draw level on -10, before beating Langer at the second extra hole with an astonishing 40-foot birdie putt in front of tens of thousands of jubilant fans. 

Recent years have ushered in success for the Irish golfers, as first Pádraig Harrington in 2007, and then amateur Shane Lowry in 2009, captured their home title. And what of 2015? Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell will be super motivated to add their first Irish Open title to their Major crowns on a course they know like their back garden. May 2015 at Royla County Down is set to once again etch its mark into the history books…will you be a part of it?

2014 Mikko Ilonen Fota Island
2013 England Paul Casey Carton House
2012 Wales Jamie Donaldson Royal Portrush
2011 England Simon Dyson Killarney
2010 England Ross Fisher Killarney
2009 Republic of Ireland Shane Lowry (a)* County Louth
2008 England Richard Finch Adare
2007 Republic of Ireland Pádraig Harrington Adare
2006 Denmark Thomas Bjørn Carton House
2005 Wales Stephen Dodd Carton House
2004 Australia Brett Rumford County Louth
2003 New Zealand Michael Campbell Portmarnock
2002 Denmark Søren Hansen Fota Island
2001 Scotland Colin Montgomerie Fota Island
2000 Sweden Patrik Sjöland Ballybunion
1999 Spain Sergio García Druids Glen
1998 England David Carter Druids Glen
1997 Scotland Colin Montgomerie Druids Glen
1996 Scotland Colin Montgomerie Druids Glen
1995 Scotland Sam Torrance Mount Juliet
1994 Germany Bernhard Langer Mount Juliet
1993 England Nick Faldo Mount Juliet
1992 England Nick Faldo Killarney
1991 England Nick Faldo Killarney
1990 Spain José María Olazábal Portmarnock
1989 Wales Ian Woosnam Portmarnock
1988 Wales Ian Woosnam Portmarnock
1987 West Germany Bernhard Langer Portmarnock
1986 Spain Seve Ballesteros Portmarnock
1985 Spain Seve Ballesteros Royal Dublin
1984 West Germany Bernhard Langer Royal Dublin
1983 Spain Seve Ballesteros Royal Dublin
1982 Republic of Ireland John O'Leary Portmarnock
1981 Scotland Sam Torrance Portmarnock
1980 England Mark James Portmarnock
1979 England Mark James Portmarnock
1978 Scotland Ken Brown Portmarnock
1977 United States Hubert Green Portmarnock
1976 United States Ben Crenshaw Portmarnock
1975 Republic of Ireland Christy O'Connor Jnr Woodbrook

Sign up to our mailing list to find out about special offers, ticket deals and what's happening at the Irish Open!